Girls Just Wants to Have (White) Fun

Clearly on an emotional high from her Golden Globe wins, Lena Dunham, Creator/Writer/Director/Star of the HBO series Girls, recently gave an interview in which she dismissed criticism of her show as coming mostly from 58-year-old men who didn’t understand — and I’m paraphrasing and reading between the lines — the show’s new-generation originality and youthful exuberance.

 

One thought on “Girls Just Wants to Have (White) Fun

  1. Brittany Suarez

    It wasn’t until I started to hear about the uproar of ‘Girls’ through articles such as this that I decided to finally watch the first episode and was disappointed. I saw a young white womyn who was being supported by her parents and unable to find a job. While this may be the reality for a lot of young womyn of this generation, their are many more who have it much much worse.

    As a womyn of color, I am upset by the claim that it is “the voice of a generation”, when it is clearly leaving out a huge chunk of this generation. As the author of the article says, “I don’t believe that people of color, sexual preference, or gender need to be shaken indiscriminately into every series like some sort of exotic seasoning.”-I couldn’t have said it better. I know from personal experience that I do not like being deemed as some sort of token and I don’t appreciate the media doing it to others either, as it only perpetuates the stereotypes of others and myself.

    Moreover, as he quotes that the single largest audience is white men over 50, its obvious that this show is entertaining to just them…like most entertainment in our culture. Once again selling sex and young white womyn to a fanbase which is mostly male- this is in no way “groundbreaking”.

    Let’s just put it this way- ‘Girls’ is not my voice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

